Researchers

David Arctur

David Arctur

Research Scientist


Technical interests: Advancement of international water resources data exchange and cross-domain interoperability and digital preservation of physical geoscience samples.

david.arctur@utexas.edu


Jay L. Banner

F.M. Bullard Professor and Director of the Environmental Science Institute

Technical interests: Earth surface processes with the goal of understanding the interactions that occur between the atmosphere-land-ocean systems, and how these interactions are preserved in the geologic record.

banner@jsg.utexas.edu

Michael Barrett

Michael Barrett

Research Professor


Technical interests: Quality, impacts, and mitigation of urban, agricultural, and construction site stormwater runoff.

mbarrett@mail.utexas.edu

James Buttles

Research Engineer Associate III


Technical interests: Sediment transport processes and deposition to understand the evolution of both terrestrial and submarine landscapes.

buttles@jsg.utexas.edu


Randall J. Charbeneau

Randall J. Charbeneau

Assistant Vice Chancellor for Research with The UT System & Professor


Technical interests: Groundwater hydrology; subsurface fate and transport of chemicals; radiological assessment; modeling.

charbeneau@mail.utexas.edu


Kasey Faust

Assistant Professor


Technical interests: Management of critical, civil infrastructure systems, interdependencies, and vulnerabilities in various categories of cities at the interface of engineering and policy.

faustk@utexas.edu


Ben Hodges

Ben Hodges

Associate Professor and Associate Director CWE


Technical interests: Hydrodynamics, transport and water quality issues in lakes, rivers and estuaries.

hodges@mail.utexas.edu


Blair Johnson

Blair Johnson

Associate Professor


Technical interests: Environmental fluid mechanics, turbulence, sediment transport and mixing processes, experimental methods.

blairjohnson@utexas.edu


Howard Liljestrand

Professor and CAEE Graduate Advisor


Technical interests: Aquatic chemistry; contaminant transport; pollutant containment and remediation acid deposition; air pollution modeling.

liljestrand@mail.utexas.edu


Lynn E. Katz

Lynn E. Katz

Director for Center for Water and the Environment & Professor


Technical interests: Contaminant fate and transport, combined abiotic/biotic treatment systems for in-situ remediation, environmental surface chemistry.

lynnkatz@mail.utexas.edu

Kerry A. Kinney

Kerry A. Kinney

Professor


Technical interests: The investigation of microorganisms in buildings as well as the development of treatment technologies for environmental contaminants.

kakinney@mail.utexas.edu


Mary Jo Kirisits

Mary Jo Kirisits

Associate Professor


Technical interests: Biological water treatment processes; application of molecular biology to biological water treatment processes; biofilms; quorum sensing in Pseudomonas aeruginosa biofilms.

kirisits@mail.utexas.edu



Technical interests: Particles in water and wastewater treatment processes; mathematical modeling of treatment processes; physical-chemical treatment; drinking and industrial process water treatment.

dlawler@mail.utexas.edu


David Maidment

David Maidment

Professor


Technical interests: Geographic information systems(GIS); expert systems and statistical techniques in hydrology and water resources planning; water use forecasting.

maidment@utexas.edu


Daene C. McKinney

Daene McKinney

Associate Department Chair for Administration and Planning & Professor


Technical interests: Sustainable management of water resources, transboundary river basins, optimization, uncertainty analysis, climate change adaptation, glacier-dominated river basins, cooperative game theory in water.

daene@aol.com


David Mohrig

David Mohrig

Professor


Technical interests: The application of sedimentary deposits and transport processes to unraveling the evolutions of terrestrial and submarine landscapes.

mohrig@jsg.utexas.edu


Paola Passalacqua

Paola Passalacqua

Associate Professor


Technical interests: Multi-scale analysis of hydrological processes; dynamics of environmental transport on river networks and deltaic systems; quantitative analysis and modeling of landscape forming processes, geomorphic transport laws and subgrid-scale parameterization.

paola@austin.utexas.edu


A. Charles Rowney

Research Fellow


Technical interests: Water resources infrastructure data management with an emphasis on enabling collaboration and interoperability in model development and application; decision support systems integrating quality/quantity/environmental indicators of impact and performance; and, integrated surface/subsurface modeling of water resources and environmental phenomena.

acr@rowney.com


Navid Saleh

Navid Saleh

Associate Professor


Technical interests: Nano-enabled water treatment technologies for developing and technologically advanced communities, safer by design of nanomaterials: environmental health and safety, and nanomaterial-reinforced sustainable infrastructure materials.

navid.saleh@utexas.edu


Polina Sela

Assistant Professor


Technical interests: Resilient urban infrastructure, modeling and control of water networks, demand management, water resources systems management, cyber-physical urban systems, and fault diagnosis.

Linasela@utexas.edu


Gerald E. Speitel, Jr.

Gerald Speitel

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs


Technical interests: Treatment processes for hazardous organic chemicals including biodegradation and adsorption; drinking water treatment; computer models of treatment processes.

speitel@utexas.edu


George H. Ward

Research Scientist


Technical interests: Circulation and transport in costal systems, hydrometeorology, physical oceanography, climatology, meteorology, fisheries, aquaculture, limnology.

gward@utexas.edu



Technical interests: Reactive transport and fate of pollutants in water resources, including groundwater and urban lakes, and the development of sustainable technologies for pollution removal from impacted waters.

werth@utexas.edu


Timothy L. Whiteaker

Tim Whiteaker Photo

Research Scientist


Technical interests: Geographic Information Systems (GIS) in water resources engineering; hydrologic, hydraulic, and water quality modeling; scientific information management; bringing water resources engineering solutions to end users by developing Web and desktop applications.

whiteaker@utexas.edu