Researchers

David Arctur

Research Scientist
david.arctur@utexas.edu

Technical interests: Advancement of international water resources data exchange and cross-domain interoperability and digital preservation of physical geoscience samples.


David Arctur

David Arctur

Jay L. Banner

F.M. Bullard Professor and Director of the Environmental Science Institute
banner@jsg.utexas.edu

Technical interests: Earth surface processes with the goal of understanding the interactions that occur between the atmosphere-land-ocean systems, and how these interactions are preserved in the geologic record.


Jay L. Banner

Michael Barrett

Research Professor
mbarrett@mail.utexas.edu

Technical interests: Quality, impacts, and mitigation of urban, agricultural, and construction site stormwater runoff.


Michael Barrett

Michael Barrett

James Buttles

Research Engineer Associate III
buttles@jsg.utexas.edu

Technical interests: Sediment transport processes and deposition to understand the evolution of both terrestrial and submarine landscapes.


James Buttles

Randall J. Charbeneau

Assistant Vice Chancellor for Research with The UT System & Professor
charbeneau@mail.utexas.edu

Technical interests: Groundwater hydrology; subsurface fate and transport of chemicals; radiological assessment; modeling.


Randall J. Charbeneau

Randall J. Charbeneau

Kasey Faust

Assistant Professor
faustk@utexas.edu

Technical interests: Management of critical, civil infrastructure systems, interdependencies, and vulnerabilities in various categories of cities at the interface of engineering and policy.


Kasey Faust

Ben Hodges

Associate Professor
hodges@mail.utexas.edu

Technical interests: Hydrodynamics, transport and water quality issues in lakes, rivers and estuaries.


Ben Hodges

Ben Hodges

Blair Johnson

Assistant Professor
blairjohnson@utexas.edu

Technical interests: Environmental fluid mechanics, turbulence, sediment transport and mixing processes, experimental methods.


Blair Johnson

Blair Johnson

Lynn E. Katz

Director for Center for Water and the Environment & Professor
lynnkatz@mail.utexas.edu

Technical interests: Contaminant fate and transport, combined abiotic/biotic treatment systems for in-situ remediation, environmental surface chemistry.


Lynn E. Katz

Lynn E. Katz

Kerry A. Kinney

Professor
kakinney@mail.utexas.edu

Technical interests: The investigation of microorganisms in buildings as well as the development of treatment technologies for environmental contaminants.


Kerry A. Kinney

Kerry A. Kinney

Mary Jo Kirisits

Associate Professor
kirisits@mail.utexas.edu

Technical interests: Biological water treatment processes; application of molecular biology to biological water treatment processes; biofilms; quorum sensing in Pseudomonas aeruginosa biofilms.


Mary Jo Kirisits

Mary Jo Kirisits

Manish Kumar

Associate Professor
manish.kumar@utexas.edu

Technical interests: Membranes, desalination, water treatment, wastewater recycling, reverse osmosis, biomimetic membranes, membrane proteins, electron microscopy, structural biology, biophysics, bioprocessing, artifical water channels, block copolymers.


Manish Kumar

Manish Kumar

Desmond F. Lawler

Professor
dlawler@mail.utexas.edu

Technical interests: Particles in water and wastewater treatment processes; mathematical modeling of treatment processes; physical-chemical treatment; drinking and industrial process water treatment.

Desmond F. Lawler

Desmond F. Lawler

Howard Liljestrand

Professor and CAEE Graduate Advisor
liljestrand@mail.utexas.edu

Technical interests: Aquatic chemistry; contaminant transport; pollutant containment and remediation acid deposition; air pollution modeling.


Howard Liljestrand

David Maidment

Professor
maidment@utexas.edu

Technical interests: Geographic information systems (GIS); expert systems and statistical techniques in hydrology and water resources planning; water use forecasting.


David Maidment

David Maidment

Daene C. McKinney

Professor Emeritus
daene@aol.com

Technical interests: Sustainable management of water resources, transboundary river basins, optimization, uncertainty analysis, climate change adaptation, glacier-dominated river basins, cooperative game theory in water.


Daene McKinney

Daene C. McKinney

David Mohrig

Professor
mohrig@jsg.utexas.edu

Technical interests: The application of sedimentary deposits and transport processes to unraveling the evolutions of terrestrial and submarine landscapes.


David Mohrig

David Mohrig

Paola Passalacqua

Associate Professor
paola@austin.utexas.edu

Technical interests: Multi-scale analysis of hydrological processes; dynamics of environmental transport on river networks and deltaic systems; quantitative analysis and modeling of landscape forming processes, geomorphic transport laws and subgrid-scale parameterization.


Paola Passalacqua

Paola Passalacqua

Navid Saleh

Associate Professor
navid.saleh@utexas.edu

Technical interests: Nano-enabled water treatment technologies for developing and technologically advanced communities, safer by design of nanomaterials: environmental health and safety, and nanomaterial-reinforced sustainable infrastructure materials.

Dr. Saleh is an editor for the Journal of Hazardous Materials.


Navid Saleh

Navid Saleh

Polina Sela

Assistant Professor
Linasela@utexas.edu

Technical interests: Resilient urban infrastructure, modeling and control of water networks, demand management, water resources systems management, cyber-physical urban systems, and fault diagnosis.


Polina Sela

Gerald E. Speitel, Jr.

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
speitel@utexas.edu

Technical interests: Treatment processes for hazardous organic chemicals including biodegradation and adsorption; drinking water treatment; computer models of treatment processes.


Gerald Speitel

Gerald E. Speitel, Jr.

George H. Ward

Research Scientist
gward@utexas.edu

Technical interests: Circulation and transport in costal systems, hydrometeorology, physical oceanography, climatology, meteorology, fisheries, aquaculture, limnology.


George H. Ward

Charles J. Werth

Professor
werth@utexas.edu

Technical interests: Reactive transport and fate of pollutants in water resources, including groundwater and urban lakes, and the development of sustainable technologies for pollution removal from impacted waters.


Charlie Werth

Charles J. Werth

Timothy L. Whiteaker

Associate Director for Center for Water and the Environment & Research Scientist
whiteaker@utexas.edu

Technical interests: Geographic Information Systems (GIS) in water resources engineering; hydrologic, hydraulic, and water quality modeling; scientific information management; bringing water resources engineering solutions to end users by developing Web and desktop applications.


Tim Whiteaker Photo

Tim Whiteaker